Maybin a Good Move


The Florida Marlins and San Diego Padres have worked out a deal involving Cameron Maybin, Ryan Webb, and Edward Mujica.  This trade send over Maybin, who is in my opinion, a fourth outfielder anywhere he goes, IF THAT.  and two relievers that the Marlins think will help him in 2011.

I am unable to see any value in Maybin.  The only good he did for any club was when the tigers sent him away in the Miguel Cabrera, Dontrelle Willis deal.  Although Willis probably would have been better served staying in the National League, the tigers got the right end of the stick there. 

As for Webb and Mujica,  I see where the Padres are coming from here.  They don’t lose the last three innings of the game for them and they get a “centerfielder.”  The Padres’ pitching coach said of Webb that he could become a future closer….That’s great.  With Heath Bell to look up to in San Diego and now Leo Nunez to look up to in Florida, I must say I don’t think that will become a reality anytime soon.

Spekaing of Heath Bell, the ex-Met turned good.  (GOOD GOD! ISN’T THAT THE CASE ALWAYS)  That back end of the Padres ‘pen is the best in baseball.  Individually, Bell, Adams, and Gergerson are not the best 7th, 8th, and 9th inning guys.  But when you put them together, they sure make one helluva wall to climb for teams looking up at the Friars late in ballgames.

If some of you peope are wondering why I say that is because that I think that the best 7th inning guy(he can be 8th inning too) in baseball is Pedro Fleiciano.  I think the best closer is Billy Wagner.  Hmmmmm EX-MET TURNED GOOD!  Are we seeing a trend here?  I sure do think so. 

Then there are cases of the Mets giving up talent, then getting it back when the talent isn’t gonna be hitting in Shea Stadium anymore.  Those walls are far out of the reach of Jason Bay’s bat.  He homered in 4 games last season.  that was IT!  Two games with two homers and two games with a bomb a pop.  WE HAD HIM!!!!!  traded him and then he went on to a career worth a big contract in Fenway Park with his buddy the Green Monster.

I understand that Jason Bay did have a season shortened by concussions, but let me tell you that when I drafted him in the 7th round of my fantasy draft and THAT was the season he gave me, I nearly threw my computer in the trash.  However, I do hope to see Bay make a name for his 120-something million dollar contract in 2011.

Leave a Reply

